We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Skip to Main Content

Editorial board



Stefan Vogenauer 
Director Max Planck Institute for European Legal History,

Alfred L.Brophy
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill


Book Review Editors

Roman Hoyos, Southwestern Law School. Please contact regarding books relating to the Americas. 

Frédéric Audren, École de droit de Sciences-Po. Please contact regarding books relating to the rest of the world.


Managing Editor

Donal Coffey, Max Planck Institute for European Legal History, Frankfurt


Editorial Board

Ulrike Babusiaux, University of Zurich

Mary Bilder, Boston College

Tomiko Brown-Nagin, Harvard University

John Cairns, University of Edinburgh

Wim Decock, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Thomas Duve, Max Planck Institute for European Legal History, Frankfurt

Wael Hallaq, Columbia University

Jean-Louis Halpérin, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris

Ron Harris, Tel-Aviv University

Hendrik Hartog, Princeton University

Phillip Hellwege, University of Augsburg

Daniel Hulsebosch, New York University

David Ibbetson, University of Cambridge

Ahmed Fekry Ibrahim, McGill University

Martha Jones, University of Michigan

Emily Kadens, Northwestern University

Laura Kalman, University of California – Santa Barbara

Martti Koskenniemi, Helsinki

Alison LaCroix, University of Chicago

William Novak, University of Michigan

Morten Rasmussen, University of Copenhagen

Mitra Sharafi, University of Wisconsin

Karen Tani, University of California – Berkeley

Harwell Wells, Temple University

Taisu Zhang, Yale University

Reinhard Zimmermann, Max Planck Institute for Comparative and International Private Law, Hamburg


This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

This PDF is available to Subscribers Only

View Article Abstract & Purchase Options

For full access to this pdf, sign in to an existing account, or purchase an annual subscription.

Subscribe Now