We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Skip to Main Content

The Distinguished Article Prize of the ALER

The winner of the 2015 Distingushed Article Prize for the American Law and Economics Review is “ Leveling the Playing Field The Role of Public Campaign Funding in Elections ” by Tilman Klumpp, Hugo M. Mialon, and Michael A. Williams.

To read this year’s winner, as well as past years’, simply click the title of the papers below:

2015 Winner

Leveling the Playing Field The Role of Public Campaign Funding in Elections
Tilman Klumpp, Hugo M. Mialon, and Michael A. Williams
(2015) 17 (2): 361-408

2014 Winner

Innovative Negligence Rules
Giuseppe Dari-Mattiacci and Luigi Alberto Franzoni
(2014) 16 (2): 333-365

2013 Winner

Why Do Plaintiffs Lose Appeals? Biased Trial Courts, Litigious Losers, or Low Trial Win Rates?
Theodore Eisenberg, Cornell University; and Henry S. Farber, Princeton University
(2013) 15 (1): 73-109

2012 Winner

Prison Conditions and Recidivism
Francesco Drago, University of Naples Parthenope, Roberto Galbiati, Department of Economics Sciences-Po, Paris, France;, and Pietro Vertova, University of Bergamo
(2011) 13 (1): 103-130

2011 Winner

Injunctions, Hold-Up, and Patent Royalties: September 2010
Carl Shapiro, University of California at Berkeley
(2010) 12 (2): 509-557

2010 Winner

Crime and Expected Punishment: Changes in Perceptions at the Age of Criminal Majority
Randi Hjalmarsson, University of Maryland
(2009) 11(1): 209-248


The board of the American Law and Economics Association awarded the first biannual Ronald H. Coase medal in recognition of major contributions to the field of law and economics in May 2010.

The first medal recipient was Richard A. Posner , to whom the medal was presented by Lucian Bebchuk in Princeton, NJ. Lucian Bebchuk’s remarks at the May 2010 meeting of the Association presentation of the medal follow: Award of the 2010 Ronald H. Coase Medal to Richard A. Posner

The second Coase Medal was presented to Guido Calabresi by John J. Donohue at the May 2012 meeting of the Association. This lecture was delivered by Judge Calabresi upon receiving the Ronald H. Coase Medal at the Annual Meeting of the American Law and Economic Association at Stanford Law School on May 18, 2012.

The third Coase Medal was presented to Steven Shavell at the 2014 meeting of the Association. We've pulled together a collection of articles written by Professor Shavell across law and economics journals, which is free to read here .

This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

This PDF is available to Subscribers Only

View Article Abstract & Purchase Options

For full access to this pdf, sign in to an existing account, or purchase an annual subscription.

Subscribe Now