We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Skip to Main Content

Announcing the Winner of the Wilkes Award for 2016

We are pleased to announce this year's winning and shortlisted papers of the Wilkes Award for Volume 58 (2015).

Winning paper
Cost-Aware Capacity Provisioning for Internet Video Streaming CDNs
Huajun He, Yang Zhao, Jinfu Wu and Ye Tian.
The Computer Journal (2015) 58 (12): 3255-3270.
doi: 10.1093/comjnl/bxv015

Runner Up
While the award is only presented to the authors of one paper, the judging panel would also like to extend a special commendation and thanks to the authors of:

MAC-REALM: A Video Content Feature Extraction and Modelling Framework
Minaz Parmar and Marios C. Angelides.
The Computer Journal (2015) 58 (9): 2135-2171.
doi: 10.1093/comjnl/bxv042

Explore the shortlist of papers that were selected by the Section Editors for the judging panel's consideration. All papers are freely available.

About The Wilkes Award
The Wilkes Award is given once a year to the authors of the best paper published in the volume of The Computer Journal from the previous year. The Award consists of £150 purchase vouchers from Oxford University Press. The Wilkes Award is named after Sir Maurice Wilkes, who was Director of the Cambridge Computer Laboratory throughout the whole development of stored program computers starting with EDSAC; inventor of labels, macros and microprogramming; with David Wheeler and Stanley Gill, the inventor of a programming system based on subroutines. Criteria for the Award are originality and quality of theme and treatment.

Members of the Judging Panel
- Professor Mostafa A. Bassiouni, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science-Computer Science Division, University of Central Florida, USA
- Professor Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini, Dipartimento di Informatica, Universita' di Torino, Italy
- Professor Fairouz Kamareddine, School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences, Heriot-Watt University, UK
- Professor Steve Furnell, School of Computing, Electronics and Mathematics, Plymouth University, UK

Previous Winners
Browse previous winners of the Wilkes Award.

This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

This PDF is available to Subscribers Only

View Article Abstract & Purchase Options

For full access to this pdf, sign in to an existing account, or purchase an annual subscription.

Subscribe Now