We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Skip to Main Content

Westrup Prize

The Westrup Prize, awarded annually by the trustees for articles of particular distinction published in Music & Letters , was established in 1985 in memory of Sir Jack Westrup, editor from 1959 to 1975. Previous awards are listed below.

The award for vol. 95 (2014) has been made to Catherine Mayes for her article ‘Eastern European National Music as Concept and Commodity at the Turn of the Nineteenth Century’ .

The following articles were also commended as runners up:

Michael Allis, ‘Bantock and Southey: Musical Otherness and Fatalism in Thalaba the Destroyer’

Sarah Collins, ‘“Never out of Date and Never Modern”: Aesthetic Democracy, Radical Music Criticism, and The Sackbut’

Previous Awards

This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

This PDF is available to Subscribers Only

View Article Abstract & Purchase Options

For full access to this pdf, sign in to an existing account, or purchase an annual subscription.

Subscribe Now