We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Skip to Main Content

Dr. Ira F. Salkin Memorial Award

On behalf of the International Society of Human and Animal Mycology, it is a great pleasure to announce the establishment of the Dr. Ira F. Salkin Memorial Award for the best original publication in Medical Mycology by a member of Young ISHAM. Dr. Salkin, a former long-time Editor-in-Chief of Medical Mycology was a strong proponent of the advancement of young scientists through their efforts in publication and this yearly award was established to support those goals.

Karl V. Clemons, PhD
Medical Mycology

The Dr. Ira F. Salkin Memorial Award
This award has been made possible by the generosity of Kay Salkin and her family to honor the memory of her late husband, Dr Ira F. Salkin, former Editor-in-Chief of Medical Mycology.

To help young scientists to advance their academic careers.
The award will include a certificate, the Dr. Ira F Salkin Medal, a cash award of $500 and will be given annually to the first author of the best original report published in Medical Mycology as judged by the award committee. This committee will include the Editor-in-Chief, who will serve as the chair, a current Editor and an ISHAM Council Officer. The award will be deferred until the next year in the event that there are no suitable candidates found.

To be eligible for the award, candidates must meet only two criteria:
     1. Must be a member of Young ISHAM who is at the start of their career e.g. either in training or in pursuit of a masters or a doctorate. YISHAM members at the academic level of Lecturer, Assistant Professor or higher are not eligible.
     2. Must be the first author of an Original Report published in Medical Mycology during the previous calendar year. Authors of Brief Reports or Review articles will not be considered.

Candidates can nominate themselves or can be nominated by their co-authors through a separate letter to the Editor-in-Chief after acceptance of the manuscript.
Nominations must be submitted by the end of January in any given year and the award will be announced in March. Candidates must state the publication concerned and can nominate themselves or be nominated by a co-author. A candidate may be nominated only once.
The successful candidates will receive their award at the triennial ISHAM congress or at a regional ISHAM meeting, whichever is deemed appropriate by the ISHAM Council.

This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

This PDF is available to Subscribers Only

View Article Abstract & Purchase Options

For full access to this pdf, sign in to an existing account, or purchase an annual subscription.

Subscribe Now