We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Skip to Main Content

The Warren Miller Prize

Oxford University Press has agreed to endow the Miller Prize for the best article published in Political Analysis. This prize of US $500 will be awarded at the Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association and will go to the best article published in the most recently completed volume. The Miller Prize is awarded for the best work appearing in Political Analysis the preceding year. 

  • 2016 Pablo Barbará for his article "Birds of the same feather tweet together: Bayesian ideal point estimation using Twitter data. Political Analysis" (Volume 23, Number 1, pp. 76-91)
  • 2015 Jens Hainmueller, Dan Hopkins, and Teppei Yamamoto for "Causal Inference in Conjoint Analysis: Understanding Multidimensional Choices via Stated Preference Experiments” (Vol 22 (1): 1-30)
  • 2014 Jake Bowers, Mark M. Fredrickson, Costas Panagopoulos for "Reasoning about Interference Between Units: A General Framework." (Vol 21: 97-124)
  • 2013 Jens Hainmueller for "Entropy Balancing for Causal Effects: A Multivariate Reweighting Method to Produce Balanced Samples in Observational Studies." (Vol 20: 25-46)
  • 2012 Devin Caughey and Jasjeet S. Sekhon, both at the University of California, Berkeley for "Elections and the Regression-Discontinuity Design: Lessons from Close U.S. House Races, 1942-2008." (Vol 19: 385-408)
  • 2011 Justin Grimmer, for "A Bayesian Hierarchical Topic Model for Political Texts: Measuring Expressed Agendas in Senate Press Releases." (Vol 18: 1-35)
  • 2010 Daniel Corstange for "Sensitive Questions, Truthful Answers? Modeling the List Experiment with LISTIT" (Vol 17: 45-63)
  • 2009 Muhammet Ali Bas, Curtis S. Signorino, and Robert W. Walker for "Statistical Backwards Induction: A Simple Method for Estimating Recursive Strategic Models." (Vol 16: 21-40)
  • 2008 Daniel E. Ho, Kosuke Imai, Gary King, and Elizabeth A. Stuart for "Matching as Nonparametric Preprocessing for Reducing Model Dependence in Parametric Casual Inference." (Vol 15: 199-236)
  • 2007 Frederick J. Boehmke, University of Iowa, for "The Influence of Unobserved Factors on Position Timing and Content in the NAFTA Vote." (Vol 14: 430-446)
  • 2006 Robert J, Franzese, Jr., University of Michigan, for "Empirical Strategies for Various Manifestations of Multilevel Data." (Vol 13: 430-446)
  • 2005 David W. Nickerson, University of Notre Dame, for "Scalable Protocols Offer Efficient Design for Field Experiments." (Vol 13: 233-252)
  • 2004 David K. Park, Andrew Gelman, Columbia University, and Joseph Bafumi, Columbia University for "Bayesian Multilevel Estimation with Poststratification: State-Level Estimates from National Polls." (Vol 12: 375-385)
  • 2003 Jeffrey B. Lewis and Kenneth A. Schultz, UCLA, for "Revealing Preferences: Empirical Estimation of a Crisis Bargaining Game with Incomplete Information." (Vol 11: 345-367)
  • 2002 Patrick Heagerty, University of Washington, Michael D. Ward, University of Washington, and Kristian Skrede Gleditsch, UCSD, for "Windows of Opportunity: Window Subseries Empirical Variance Estimators in International Relations." (Vol 10: 304-317)
  • 2001 Keith T. Poole, University of Houston, for "The Geometry of Multidimensional Quadratic Utility in Models of Parliamentary Roll Call Voting." (Vol 9: 211-226)
  • 2000 John Londregan, UCLA, for "Estimating Legislator's Preferred Points." (Vol 8: 35-56)
This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

This PDF is available to Subscribers Only

View Article Abstract & Purchase Options

For full access to this pdf, sign in to an existing account, or purchase an annual subscription.

Subscribe Now